New voluntary standards for general practice nurses launched

General practice nurses have a new set of standards they can voluntarily sign up to.

A new set of voluntary standards for senior general practice nurses has been drawn up by the Queens Nursing Institute (QNI) and QNI Scotland.

Picture: iStock

Intended to augment and update, but not replace, statutory standards set by the Nursing and Midwifery Council, the standards have been launched to coincide with the second day of the QNI’s annual Healthcare in the Community Conference in London.

The standards reflect the range of competences required to deliver high quality, person-centred care when leading a nursing team. They are divided into four domains:

  • Clinical care.
  • Leadership and management.
  • Facilitation of learning.
  • Evidence, research and development.

Nurses will be able to measure their skills and knowledge against the standards, and collaborate with education providers in developing course content.


Development of the standards follows publication of voluntary standards for district nursing in 2015 and QNI research into general practice nursing in 2016.

QNI chief executive Crystal Oldman said: ‘The specialist expertise of the general practice nursing service has come into focus in recent years as the policy agenda seeks to move more healthcare into the community, with many practices forming federations, hubs and clusters.

‘Senior practice nurses are undertaking areas of work that were traditionally reserved to GPs and there are more opportunities available to them in the leadership and management of a varied nursing team.’

In other news

This is a free article for registered users

This article is not available as part of an institutional subscription. Why is this? You can register for free access.