RCNi Nurse Awards 2020: find out who has made the finals

Our shortlist showcases professionalism, clinical expertise and compassionate care

The finalists of the prestigious RCNi Nurse Awards 2020 have been revealed, showcasing excellence in the profession during the International Year of the Nurse and Midwife.

The profession’s top accolades celebrate innovation, skill and dedication in nursing across 12 categories, including Child Health, Learning Disability Nursing, Mental Health Nursing and Team of the Year. 

The finalists were chosen from 700 entries, and one category winner will be given the coveted title of RCN Nurse of the Year 2020 at a virtual ceremony later this year.

Click here to see the list of finalists

Innovative care for young offenders and the homeless

The finalists highlight the diversity of the profession. Among them is a nurse who uses her own childhood experience of sleeping on the streets to support homeless people in Wales, and a mental health nurse who has worked tirelessly for decades to reduce the use of physical restraint. 

The shortlist also includes a nurse working with young offenders in Northern Ireland to tackle substance misuse and self harm by creating comic books, and an end of life hospice team ensuring all babies, children and young adults receive the best specialist palliative care wherever and whenever they need it.

The shortlist was due to be announced in March but was postponed while nurses focused on their patients and colleagues during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

2020 has brought unprecedented challenges for nursing staff

RCNi managing director Rachel Armitage says: 'No one could have predicted just how much this really would be the Year of the Nurse and the Midwife. 

‘While our entries closed before the pandemic, we believe the time is right to showcase the professionalism, clinical expertise and compassionate care delivered by the nursing team to patients UK-wide, not just during this crisis but every day of every year. 

'The RCNi Nurse Awards 2020 are a chance to celebrate these achievements, as well as recognise nursing's exceptional contribution to the Covid-19 response and those who lost their lives.’

RCNi Nurse Awards 2020 categories 

  • Advance Nurse Practitioner 
  • Child Health 
  • Commitment to Carers
  • General Practice and Community Nursing
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Nursing 
  • Nursing Support Worker
  • Innovations in your Specialty
  • Learning Disability Nursing 
  • Mental Health Nursing 
  • Nursing Student 
  • Team of the Year
  • Patient's Choice


In other news