Last chance to enter RCNi Nurse Awards 2018

Only a few hours remain to enter the most prestigious awards in the nursing profession.

Nurse Awards
Nominations deadline is midnight on Friday 23 February. Picture Mark Hakansson

Nursing staff and others have until midnight on Friday 23 February to nominate a colleague or themselves for the RCNi Nurse Awards 2018.

Many of the past winners – who have been behind some inspirational projects – have seen their careers receive a huge boost as a result.

Now in their 31st year the awards are open to nurses, midwives and health visitors registered to practice in the UK whose primary employment is nursing.

Nursing students and individuals working in a healthcare support role such as healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, are also welcome.

Awards' categories

They are divided into 14 categories:

  • Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award
  • Cancer Nursing Practice Award
  • Child Health Award
  • Commitment to Carers Award
  • Community Nursing Award
  • Emergency Nurse Award
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Award
  • Healthcare Assistant Award
  • Innovations in Your Specialty Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Learning Disability Nursing Award
  • Mental Health Practice Award
  • Nursing Older People Award
  • Patients' Choice Award

Once entries close a panel of specialist judges will review all submitted entries and decide on a shortlist of five entries per category.

Notfication by email

All entrants, whether shortlisted or not, will be notified via email to confirm whether their entry has been successful.

Excluding the Patients' Choice finalists, all other shortlisted entrants will be invited to present their initiative to a panel of judges in London in May.

The panel will decide the winner for each category and category winners will then be considered by the judges for the overall award, the RCN Nurse of the Year 2018.

Patients' Choice Award

The winner of the Patients' Choice Award will be decided by public vote. Details on how to vote for the winner of this category will be provided when the finalists are announced in April.

All winners will be announced at the awards ceremony, taking place at the Westminster Park Plaza in London on Wednesday 4 July.

In other news