Clinical update

Haematological cancers

Clinical update on haematological cancers, including latest guidelines, signs and symptoms, advice on helping your patient, and expert comment.

Essential facts

Haematological malignancies are a diverse group of cancers that affect the blood, bone marrow and lymphatic systems. The main categories are lymphoma, leukaemia, myeloma, myelodysplastic syndromes and myeloproliferative neoplasms.

In addition, there are subtypes of lymphoma and leukaemia, as well as more rare haematological cancers that have their own categories.

There are also borderline conditions such as aplastic anaemia and other non‑malignant bone marrow failure syndromes.

The charity Bloodwise says about 38,000 people in Britain are diagnosed every year with blood cancer or a related disorder, making it the country’s fifth most common cancer.

What’s new?

In May, the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) published updated guidance on haematological malignancies, with the aim of improving care for patients by promoting best practice in the organisation of specialist services.

Guidance has been updated from 2003 to reflect the


Want to read more?

Unlock full access to RCNi Plus today

Save over 50% on your first three months:

  • Customisable clinical dashboard featuring 200+ topics
  • Unlimited online access to all 10 RCNi Journals including Nursing Standard
  • RCNi Learning featuring 180+ RCN accredited learning modules
  • NMC-compliant RCNi Portfolio to build evidence for revalidation
  • Personalised newsletters tailored to your interests

This article is not available as part of an institutional subscription. Why is this?