RCNi Nurse Awards 2018 – find out who is in the finals

Awards celebrate the best of UK nursing as survey reveals the profession is valued above all others 

Awards celebrate the best of UK nursing as survey reveals the profession is valued above all others 

The 70 finalists in the RCNi Nurse Awards 2018 have been announced today.

Five individuals and teams have been shortlisted for each of the 14 award categories, with the RCN Nurse of Year 2018 being chosen from these finalists.

Among those making it to the final five in their category is a team of emergency nurses that transformed the support system for families devastated by the loss of a child and a community nurse who provided assessment and treatment for people affected by homelessness.

Read the shortlist for each category 

Valued profession

The announcement of the finalists coincides with a survey commissioned by RCNi that reveals 80% of people in the UK value nursing more than any other profession.

However, only 10% of respondents said they would consider a career in nursing, with 30% citing the long hours and bad pay as reasons to avoid the profession.

Rachel Armitage of RCNi

The 2,000 survey participants were canvassed this month during a period of unprecedented nurse shortages in the UK.

RCNi managing director Rachel Armitage said the survey demonstrated the importance of recognising nursing's many achievements.

She said: ‘These results prove just how highly the British public regard nurses and we hope that by recognising the achievements of our incredible RCNi Nurse Awards 2018 shortlist, we can help to inspire the next generation of nurses to join this vital profession.’ 

Patients’ Choice

The public will also get a chance to thank nurses for their hard work by voting for their favourite from the final five in the Patients' Choice award category.

People have until midnight on 8 June to vote for the winner.

The winners in all the categories, as well as RCN Nurse of the Year, will be announced at an awards ceremony in London on 4 July.

More than 700 people entered the RCNi Nurse Awards 2018.

The awards categories are:

  • Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award
  • Cancer Nursing Award
  • Child Health Award
  • Community Nursing Award
  • Emergency Nursing Award
  • Healthcare Assistant Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Learning Disability Nursing Award
  • Mental Health Practice Award
  • Nursing Older People Award
  • Patient’s Choice Award
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Award
  • Commitment to Carers Award
  • Innovations in your Specialty Award

Further information

In other news

This is a free article for registered users

This article is not available as part of an institutional subscription. Why is this? You can register for free access.