Deadline extended to enter the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017

The deadline to enter the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017 has been extended to 13 January

Venetia Wynter-Blyth with the prestigious Nurse of the Year
Award in 2016. Picture: Barney Newman

The awards are the UK nursing profession’s highest accolade for nursing excellence, showcasing the dedication, creativity and passion of nurses in providing high-quality patient care.

They recognise and reward nurses who have come up with new ways to improve health outcomes, enhance patient experiences and transform nursing practice. 

Nurses, midwives and health visitors – as well as assistant practitioners, healthcare assistants and nursing students – can enter for awards in the categories below.

Award categories

  • Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award
  • Bank Nurse Award
  • Cancer Nursing Award
  • Child Health Award
  • Commitment to Carers Award
  • Community Nursing Award
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Award
  • Innovations in Your Speciality Award 
  • Leadership Award
  • Learning Disability Nursing Award
  • Mental Health Practice Award
  • Nursing Older People Award
  • Patient’s Choice Award
  • RCN Healthcare assistant award


The winners of each category will be eligible for the overall RCN Nurse of the Year award, which is chosen by a panel of judges and announced at the end of a special awards ceremony in London in May.

Venetia Wynter-Blyth won the prestigious Nurse of the Year award in 2016. She said: ‘The Nurse Awards have opened doors.

‘I cannot emphasise enough how many opportunities have been presented to us as a result of winning this award.’

‘Important recognition’

Ms Wynter-Blyth was named winner of nursing’s top accolade after her team’s programme PREPARE won the Innovations in Your Specialty category.

The holistic, tailored ‘prehabilitation’ programme, delivered at Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust in London, is dramatically improving outcomes for people with oesophago-gastric cancer who require surgery, by encouraging them to participate in their care.

‘Winning at the Nurse Awards helped us see that we are on to something significant. It is such important recognition,’ says Ms Wynter-Blyth.

Team effort 

‘I am not a one-man band. The prehabilitation programme is an interdisciplinary, team effort, and together we have made the most of the opportunities winning the award has offered.

‘The award has brought the team together and kept us focused. We knew we had to keep the momentum going and it was the perfect opportunity to build on our progress.’

The 2017 awards will be held on Friday, 5 May at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel in London.

For more information about the categories and how to enter the awards click here

Further information

In other news