Nightingales at War

Fans of Call the Midwife will love this sixth book in the Nightingales series, which is set in the east end of London in the 1940s and sees the Nightingale nurses doing their bit for king and country during the second world war.

Familiar faces from previous books return, including nurse Helen, who lost her husband, and Dora, who leaves her young twins in the care of her mother so she can look after those in need in hospital.

We are introduced to new character Eva, a shy girl who sees hospital life as an escape from the pressures of home life, and Voluntary Aid Detachment workers Cissy and Jennifer, who think they are entering a glamorous profession caring for young men in uniform, only to be faced with the stark reality of casualties of war.

Either as an individual read or a continuation of the series, this engaging historical saga does not disappoint.

Want to read more?

Unlock full access to RCNi Plus today

Save over 50% on your first three months:

  • Customisable clinical dashboard featuring 200+ topics
  • Unlimited online access to all 10 RCNi Journals including Nursing Standard
  • RCNi Learning featuring 180+ RCN accredited learning modules
  • NMC-compliant RCNi Portfolio to build evidence for revalidation
  • Personalised newsletters tailored to your interests

This article is not available as part of an institutional subscription. Why is this?