RCNi Nurse Awards 2018 – deadline for entries extended to 23 February

The deadline for entries to the most prestigious awards in the nursing profession has been extended.

Nurse Awards

Nurses, midwives and health visitors now have an extra two weeks – until 23 February – to enter the RCNi Nurse Awards 2018.

Applications are also encouraged from nursing students and individuals working in a healthcare support role, such as healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners.

The awards, now in their 31st year, are an annual celebration of nurses’ achievements within all specialties in the UK.

Huge boost to winners

Many of the past winners have seen their careers receive a huge boost as a result.

TV and radio presenter Kate Garraway is this year's awards ambassador.

She said: 'In recent years I have crossed paths with many nurses, from the wonderful team who made my uncle’s final days battling pancreatic cancer as comfortable as possible to those holding my children’s (and my) hands for their first jabs.

'Throughout these experiences I was consistently amazed by their sheer dedication and ability to connect with patients, yet they often don’t get the recognition they deserve.’

Award categories

The 14 award categories include:

  • Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award
  • Cancer Nursing Practice Award
  • Child Health Award
  • Commitment to Carers Award
  • Community Nursing Award
  • Emergency Nurse Award
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Award
  • Healthcare Assistant Award
  • Innovations in your Specialty Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Learning Disability Nursing Award
  • Mental Health Practice Award
  • Nursing Older People Award
  • Patients' Choice Award

Once entries close a panel of specialist judges will review all submitted entries and decide on a shortlist of five entries per category.

All entrants, whether shortlisted or not, will be notified via email to confirm whether their entry has been successful.

Presentation to a panel of judges

Excluding the Patients' Choice finalists, all other shortlisted entrants will be invited to present their initiative to a panel of judges in London in May 2018.

The panel will decide the winner for each category and category winners will then be considered by the judges for the overall award, the RCN Nurse of the Year 2018.

The winner of the Patients' Choice Award will be decided by a public vote. Details on how to vote for the winner of this category will be provided when the finalists are announced in April 2018.

All winners will be announced at the awards ceremony, taking place at the Westminster Park Plaza in London on Wednesday 4 July.

Further information

In other news