RCN Nursing Awards 2021: you now have more time to enter and celebrate nurses’ work

Deadline extended to 24 May so staff can ‘shout about what our magnificent profession has done’

The deadline for entering the prestigious RCN Nursing Awards has been extended until 24 May to give more nurses a chance to highlight their practice or nominate a colleague.

The awards offer nurses, nursing students and healthcare assistants the opportunity to share their innovations and expertise, as well as celebrate their leadership contribution to improving care and health outcomes for patients.

Awards highlight how nurses ‘make a difference to people’s lives’

Foundation of Nursing Studies chief executive Joanne Bosanquet will chair the judging panel for this year’s awards.

‘We know nurses are incredibly busy so we wanted to give them more time to share their excellent practice with us and, in turn, the rest of the profession and the entire healthcare system,’ she said.

‘It has never been more important to shout about what our magnificent profession has done, not just during the pandemic but also day in day out to make a difference to people’s lives from birth to end of life.

‘We can’t wait to read about the difference nurses are making to patients all over the UK.’

Enter the RCN Nursing Awards

Former winner describes award as ‘life-changing’

Rachel Luby

Rachel Luby, who won the mental health nursing category of the awards in 2019, urged nurses to put forward their work or that of a colleague.

‘Winning the award has made a massive difference to me – it has genuinely been life-changing,’ she said.

‘It has given me confidence and self-belief, and I have subsequently published four papers and would never have thought anyone would want to read what I wrote.’

Ms Luby adds: ‘The award has given me connections and has helped me move in different directions – from sexual health into a remit around sexual violence and trauma-informed care. On the back of the award I’ve just finished delivering training in this area with Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust.

‘And the work I have completed with the Royal College of Psychiatrists on sexual safety standards would never have happened without the award.’

Enter one of 15 award categories

Entries are open to individuals and teams in 15 categories that capture the diversity of nursing.

Healthcare managers can also show how much they appreciate individual nurses and teams by nominating them.

Enter the RCN Nursing Awards

In other news