Prestigious RCN Nursing Awards 2022 now open for entries

Categories cover the diversity of nursing, with RCN Nurse of the Year to be chosen from category winners and announced on 6 October

Image of web page for the RCN Nursing Awards

The UK’s most prestigious nursing awards have opened for entries, with the RCN Nurse of the Year 2022 accolade up for grabs.

The RCN Nursing Awards invite nurses, nursing students and nursing support workers to share their innovations and expertise and celebrate their contribution to improving care and outcomes for people of all ages and walks of life.

Entries are open to individuals and teams in 13 categories covering the diversity of nursing.

The Patient’s Choice category, which gives patients an opportunity to nominate a nurse, health visitor or nursing support worker who has made a difference to their lives, is decided by public vote.

The RCN Nurse of the Year 2022 will be chosen from the category winners and announced at the awards ceremony at the Westminster Park Plaza hotel on 6 October.

The awards are about recognising outstanding contributions made to the nursing profession

RCN general secretary Pat Cullen said: ‘Nursing staff right across the UK have demonstrated their skill and professionalism since the very beginning of the pandemic, just as they had done every day before it hit.

‘In hospitals, in GP surgeries, in care homes and the community, they should all be proud to be part of this incredible profession.

‘These awards are about recognising the outstanding contributions made to the nursing profession and celebrating the outstanding efforts, commitment and achievements of all those involved.

‘I encourage you all to enter or nominate a colleague for the awards and look forward to hearing of the work that has continued to go on, even under the most incredible pressures.’

Nurses’ work deserves to be shared and recognised on a national platform

Awards judging panel chair and chief executive of the Foundation of Nursing Studies Joanne Bosanquet said: ‘These prestigious awards are a fantastic way for nursing teams to showcase practice that is making a difference to people’s – and often entire communities’ – health and well-being.

‘It has been an incredibly tough year, but in many cases this has driven nurses to further enhance the person-centred care they give, and this needs to be shared and recognised on a national platform.’

The deadline for entries is 25 March. You do not need to be an RCN member to enter and all categories are open to entrants from across the UK.

RCN Nursing Awards 2022 categories

There are 13 awards categories this year:

Child health

Commitment to carers – sponsored by NHS England and NHS Improvement

Community and GP nursing – sponsored by NHS England and NHS Improvement

Excellence in cancer research nursing – sponsored by Cancer Research UK

Innovations in your specialty

Leadership – sponsored by Lloyds Pharmacy Clinical Homecare

Learning disability nursing

Mental health nursing

Nursing older people – sponsored by Aquarate

Nursing support worker

Patient’s choice - sponsored by Alexandra

Student nurse

Team of the year – sponsored by LV=

Enter the RCN Nursing Awards 2022 here

In other news