Nurse Awards

Time to nominate nurse of the year

NA master_small

Celebrate excellence in older people’s nursing by proposing a colleague or team
for next year’s RCNi Nurse Awards


Nurse team leader, liaison psychiatry Nicola Wood (centre) with colleagues. Nicola was highly commended in
the Nursing Older People 2017 award category for reducing the number of moves of patients with dementia at Forth Valley Royal Hospital, Larbert.
Picture: Mike Wilkinson 


The RCNi Nurse Awards 2018 are open for entries with 14 categories, including Nursing Older People. 

The awards are open to nurses, midwives and health visitors registered to practise in the UK whose primary employment is nursing, nursing students and individuals working in a healthcare support role such as healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners.

Entries will close on 9 February 2018. 

The awards ceremony will be held on Wednesday 4 July 2018 at Westminster Park Plaza Hotel, London.

This year’s Nursing Older People Award was won by Susan Wills and Dena Ross from Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust.

Community matrons Ms Wills and Ms Ross won the award for reducing unplanned and avoidable hospital admissions by supporting carers to manage residents in nursing homes. 


Liaison psychiatry team lead Nicola Wood was highly commended in the category for reducing the number of moves of patients with dementia at Forth Valley Royal Hospital.

Entries will be shortlisted by a panel of specialist judges. Finalists, except those from the Patients Choice category, which is decided by the public, will be invited to present their initiatives to the judges in London in May 2018. The panel will decide the winner for each category and they will be considered by the judges for the RCN Nurse of the Year 2018 award.

RCNi editorial advisory board chair Caroline Shuldham offered advice for entering the awards. She said: ‘Good entries fit the chosen criteria. Your application should tell the story of what was done and the impact your project had.’

Click here for more information and to enter