Nursing Older People Award now open for entries in the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017

Older people’s nurses are invited to enter the 2017 RCNi Nurse Awards – the UK nursing profession’s highest accolade for excellence.

Older people’s nurses are invited to enter the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017 – the UK nursing profession’s highest accolade for excellence.

Geraldine Rodgers
Geraldine Rodgers after winning in her category. Picture: Barney Newman

The awards showcase the dedication, creativity and passion of nurses in providing high-quality patient care across the health service.

The Nursing Older People Award category is open to NHS or independent sector nurses who have made an outstanding contribution to the care of older people.

Nurses must demonstrate they have developed initiatives to either support independent living or improve physical and emotional care in hospitals or care homes.

North East London NHS Foundation Trust nurse consultant for frailty and long-term conditions Geraldine Rodgers won this year’s award.

Project recognition

Ms Rodgers reduced violence and aggression and improved safety on an older people’s mental health ward.

‘The award is a fantastic opportunity to show the work we do for older people and it allows us to show our project further afield so people could learn from us and the work we did,’ Ms Rodgers said.

Nurses, midwives and health visitors – as well as assistant practitioners, healthcare assistants and nursing students – will all have opportunities to enter awards across 13 categories:

  • Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award.
  • Cancer Nursing Award.
  • Child Health Award.
  • Commitment to Carers Award (sponsored by NHS England).
  • Community Nursing Award (sponsored by Superdrug).
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Award (sponsored by Cancer Research UK).
  • Innovations in your Specialty.
  • Leadership Award.
  • Learning Disability Nursing Award (sponsored by NHS England).
  • Mental Health Practice Award.
  • Nursing Older People Award.
  • Patient’s Choice (sponsored by Yakult).
  • RCN Healthcare Assistant Award (sponsored by the RCN).

Other projects recognised by judges this year in the Nursing Older People category included work by Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust specialist practitioner for care homes Lesley Spall.

Ms Spall developed a hydration toolkit to prevent dehydration among care home residents.

Nursing Older People specialist journal editor, Lisa Berry, who was on this year’s judging panel encouraged older people’s nurses to enter the category.

She said: ‘Given the year-round unrelenting pressure on services, it’s more important than ever to enter the awards and shine a light on initiatives that have improved care for your patients.’

An overall Nurse of the Year award will also be chosen by the judges from the winners on the night.

The RCNi Nurse Awards event is being held on Friday 5 May, 2017 at the Westminster Park Plaza in London.

More information is available at

Further information

Nursing Older People Award winner: Geraldine Rodgers

Nursing Older People Award finalist: Lesley Spall

This is a free article for registered users

This article is not available as part of an institutional subscription. Why is this? You can register for free access.