Finalists revealed for nursing older people category at RCNi Nurse Awards 2017

RCNi is proud to reveal the finalists for the nursing older people award at the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017, which showcase innovation, talent and skill across the nursing profession.

Last year’s nursing older people award winner, Geraldine Rodgers, centre. Picture: Barney Newman

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel in London on the night of Friday 5 May.

The awards span a range of areas, including learning disability nursing, child health and cancer nursing, and celebrate the best of the UK’s nursing workforce.

The coveted RCN Nurse of the Year 2017 title will be awarded to one of the category winners at the end of the ceremony.

Award shortlist

The shortlist for the nursing older people award is:

  • Maria Loughran, Northern Health and Social Care Trust.
  • Nicola Wood, NHS Forth Valley.
  • Emily Watts, East and North Herts NHS Trust.
  • Carol Bartholomew, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust.
  • Susan Wills, Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust.

Last year’s nursing older people award was won by North East London NHS Foundation Trust’s nurse consultant for frailty and long-term conditions Geraldine Rodgers.

Ms Rodgers reduced incidences of violence and aggression and improved safety on an older people’s mental health ward by creating a more homely environment.

For a full list of finalists click here

In other news