Leadership Award now open for entries in the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017

Nurse managers and those in leadership roles are invited to enter the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017 – the UK nursing profession’s highest accolade for excellence.

Nurse managers and those in leadership roles are invited to enter the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017 – the UK nursing profession’s highest accolade for excellence.

The awards showcase the dedication, creativity and passion of nurses in providing high-quality patient care across the health service.

The Leadership Award category is open to NHS or independent sector nurses who have developed initiatives to ensure their nursing ward or unit offers the highest quality and safest care possible.

This year’s category winner, Virgin Care Surrey senior district nurse and practice teacher Tracy Harman, developed training tools to offer nurses at her organisation more leadership training.

Ms Harman said she wanted to ‘give the district nurses the courage and skill’ to deliver the community nursing vision.

Innovation in practice

Nursing Management editor Sophie Blakemore, who sat on this year’s shortlisting panel, said: ‘The RCNi Nurse Awards are a wonderful way to recognise those who innovate in their practice to make a tangible difference to patient care.

‘The standard of entries received for the leadership award was exceptionally high; the finalists showed how senior nurses and midwives are leading and developing their staff to improve morale, performance and care.’

Nurses, midwives and health visitors – as well as assistant practitioners, healthcare assistants and nursing students – will all have opportunities to enter awards across 13 categories:

  • Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award.
  • Cancer Nursing Award.
  • Child Health Award.
  • Commitment to Carers Award – sponsored by NHS England.
  • Community Nursing Award – sponsored by Superdrug.
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Award – sponsored by Cancer Research UK.
  • Innovations in your Specialty.
  • Leadership Award.
  • Learning Disability Nursing Award – sponsored by NHS England.
  • Mental Health Practice Award.
  • Nursing Older People Award.
  • Patient’s Choice Award – sponsored by Yakult.
  • RCN Healthcare Assistant Award – sponsored by the RCN.

Other nursing leaders recognised by judges this year in the leadership category included Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Trust lead nurse Victoria Throne who was shortlisted.

Ms Throne helped set up a new holistic service to ensure cancer patients have better access to palliative care.

Nominations welcome

An overall Nurse of the Year award will be chosen by the judges from the winners.

Nurses can either nominate themselves, their team or be nominated by a colleague.

The RCNi Nurse Awards event is being held on Friday 5 May 2017 at the Westminster Park Plaza in London.

To enter the awards go to RCNi Nurse Awards 2017

Further Information

Supporting district nurses to become champions of compassionate care