Finalists announced for the Leadership award at the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017

RCNi is proud to unveil the finalists for the Leadership award at the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017, which showcase innovation, talent and skill across the nursing profession.

Previous category winner Tracy Harman (centre) picking up her award at last year’s ceremony.
Picture: Barney Newman

Winners will be announced at a black-tie ceremony at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel in London on the night of Friday 5 May.

The awards span a range of areas, including learning disability nursing, child health and cancer nursing, and celebrate the best of the UK’s nursing workforce.

The coveted RCN Nurse of the Year 2017 prize will be awarded to one of the category winners at the end of the ceremony.

The shortlist for the Leadership award is:

  • Kerry Mutch, the Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust.
  • Susie Scales, Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Foundation Trust.
  • Julie Kinley, St Christopher’s Hospice.
  • Katie De Freitas, Great Ormond Street Hospital.
  • Joanne Strain, Four Seasons Health Care.

Previous winner

Last year’s award was won by the District Nurse Development Programme at Virgin Care’s Surrey adult community nursing service.

Led by Tracy Harman, the team enabled district nurses to develop their leadership skills and empowered them to champion high quality, compassionate, patient-centred services.

For a full list of finalists, go to

In other news