Now in their 32nd year, the RCNi Nurse Awards celebrate the very best in nursing care. Covering a wide range of specialties such as learning disability nursing, child health, cancer nursing, mental health nursing and nursing older people, these awards are widely regarded as the highest accolade for nurses in the UK.


The RCNi Nurse Awards have rewarded some of the most impressive nurse-lead projects of recent years. Many of our past winners have seen their careers accelerate thanks to their RCNi Awards recognition and since winning have gone on to achieve remarkable accomplishments and influenced nursing practice on a national scale.

Entries open in November each year and run until February. But you can register your interest in entering today, and be one of the first notified when the entries open. Not only that, but you will also receive an extension to the entry deadline in 2020, giving you that little bit more time to perfect your entry before submitting it to the judges.

Register your interest in the 2020 awards


Once entries close in February a panel of specialist judges will review all entries and decide on a shortlist of five entries per category. The finalists are usually notified in March / April.

Excluding the Patient’s Choice finalists, all other shortlisted entrants will be invited to present their initiative to a panel of judges in London, usually in May. The panel will decide the winner for each category, and category winners will then be automatically considered by the judges for the overall award, which is the prestigious RCN Nurse of the Year.

The winner of the Patient’s Choice Award is decided by public vote.


All winners are announced at the Awards ceremony, which takes place in a central London location, usually in July.

The below timetable for 2019 gives a good idea of the dates we work towards each year.

Key dates
Entry deadline Friday 15 February 2019
Finalists announced April 2019
Judging interviews Monday 29 April – Friday 3 May 2019
Awards ceremony Wednesday 3 July 2019

Highlights from the RCNi Nurse Awards 2018