Nurse Awards

Shortlist revealed for the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017

RCNi is proud to unveil the finalists for the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017, which showcase innovation, talent and skill across the nursing profession

Picture: Mark Hakansson

Winners will be announced at a black-tie ceremony at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel in London on the night of Friday 5 May.

The awards span a range of areas, including learning disability nursing, child health and cancer nursing, and celebrate the best of the UK’s nursing workforce.

The coveted RCN Nurse of the Year 2017 prize will be awarded to one of the category winners at the end of the ceremony.

Shortlisted entrants are as follows:

Bank nurse award
  • Margaret Toye – Northern Health and Social Care Trust
  • Kim Arnell – Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Resident Experience Team – Four Seasons Health Care
  • Mahen Lockmun – CSH Surrey
  • Aileen Coomber – Sussex Partnership NHS Trust
Mental health practice award
  • Heather Meacham – NHS Forth Valley
  • Alan Wilmott – Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sarah Biggs – Hertfordshire Partnership Foundation Trust 
  • Jessica Wilson – Elysium Health Care
  • Matty Caine – Tees, Esk and Wear NHS Foundation Trust
Innovations in your specialty award
  • Ruth Roddison – The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust
  • Johanne Vass – Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board
  • Jane Wigg – LymphVision
  • Diane Palmer – North Essex Partnership NHS Trust
  • Melissa Rochon – Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust
Healthcare assistant award
  • Jayne Burkinshaw – Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Elaine Cooney – Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Rommel Mabunga – Whittington Health
  • Judy Lever – Marie Curie
  • Cemlyn Roberts – Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
The Andrew Parker student nurse award
  • Louise Cahill – University of Hertfordshire
  • Tanya Marlow – University of Central Lancashire
  • Lorraine Ramnath – The Open University
  • Zoe Butler – University of Cumbria
  • Kirsty Killiard – University of Dundee
Child health award
  • Drew Mcdonald – NHS Grampian
  • Helen Thornton – St Helens and Knowsley NHS Teaching Trust
  • Karen Higgins and Lucy Andrews – Sunflowers Care Limited
  • Catherine Brindle – Liverpool Community Health
  • Carrie James – Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust
Commitment to carers award
  • Michael Tatterton – Martin House Children's Hospice
  • Donna Pywell – University Hospitals of Leicester
  • Jodie Deards – East and North Hertfordshire Trust
  • Wilma Thomas – Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust
  • Lynne Carmichael – Ayrshire Hospice
Community nursing award
  • Anne Thomas – BCUHB
  • Gilly Barringer – St Luke’s Hospice, Plymouth
  • Mike Wooldridge – Sussex Health Care Clinical
  • Sarah Barlow – Burton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Clare Mechen – The Adam Practice
Learning disability nursing award
  • Helen Laverty – University of Nottingham
  • Nicky Lyall – St Anne's Community Services
  • Jim Blair – Great Ormond Street Hospital
  • Melanie Davies – Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board
  • Lindsey Boyd – Countess of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Leadership award
  • Kerry Mutch – The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust
  • Susie Scales – Derbyshire Community Health Services
  • Julie Kinley – St Christopher's Hospice
  • Katie De Freitas – Great Ormond Street Hospital
  • Joanne Strain – Four Seasons Health Care
Excellence in cancer research award
  • Shirley Pringle – University Hospital Aintree
  • Stephanie Cornthwaite – Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Jennifer Foreman – South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust
  • Rachel Taylor – University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Julie Hoole – Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust
Nursing older people award
  • Maria Loughran – Northern Health and Social Care Trust
  • Nicola Wood – NHS Forth Valley
  • Emily Watts – East and North Herts NHS Trust
  • Carol Bartholomew – Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Susan Wills – Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust
Cancer nursing award
  • Jane Billing – Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust
  • Michele Pengelly – Velindre NHS Trust
  • Sharon Foy – The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
  • Donna Cummings – Central Manchester Foundation Trust
  • Anne Hope – Royal Surrey County Hospital
Patient’s choice award
  • Joanna O'Toole – Royal Manchester Children's Hospital
  • Karen Coutts – Scarisbrick Inpatient Unit
  • Nadine MacArthur – Pluscarden Clinic
  • Sarah Moody – Taunton Community Services 
  • Sian Bodman – Aneurin Bevan University Health Board