The RCNi Nurse Awards are the profession’s top accolade for nursing excellence.

Nurse Awards montage

See our winners photo gallery from 2015

The awards are open to nurses, midwives and health visitors registered to practice in the UK and whose primary employment is nursing. Healthcare assistants, assistant practitioners and student nurses can also enter.

Still open to enter

Bank Nurse Award

NHS Professionals logoSponsored by NHS Professionals

This award recognises and rewards the vital and ever increasing contribution bank nurses play in the overall nursing workforce on wards every day. The judges are seeking nominations for bank nurses / bank nursing teams who perform above what is considered as the 'norm' and who add value to the substantive team. Bank nurses and bank nursing teams may nominate themselves.

Enter the Bank Nurse Award

Excellence in Cancer Research Award

Cancer Research UKSponsored by Cancer Research UK

This award recognises and rewards the vital role that Clinical Research Nurses play in cancer clinical research, helping to discover new ways to prevent, diagnose and treat cancer and improve patient outcomes. The judges are seeking nominations from Clinical Research Nurses or research delivery teams who have demonstrated excellence in cancer clinical research. Nurses may nominate themselves, their team or be nominated by a colleague.

Enter the Excellence in Cancer Research Award


  • Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award
  • Bank Nurse Award
  • Cancer Nursing Award
  • Excellence in Cancer Research Award
  • Child Health Award
  • Community Nursing Award
  • Innovations in your Specialty Award
  • Learning Disability Nursing Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Mental Health Practice Award
  • Nursing Older People Award
  • Nursing Assistant Award
  • Patient's Choice Award
  • Supporting Carers Award

Read more about our categories

The ceremony

The 2016 awards ceremony will take place on Friday 6th May at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel in London.

Previous winners

The winners of previous awards have gone on to receive the highest recognition and support for their projects from health ministers.

In 2014 finalists discussed their projects with MPs at a parliamentary reception to celebrate International Nurses Day. In 2015, RCN Nurse of the Year Award winner, Amanda Burston, alongside four other finalists (including Sarah Hartfree who was chosen by the general public as the Patient’s Choice Nurse 2015) celebrated International Nurses Day on ITV1’s Paul O’Grady Show. Amanda has been a guest of honour at many prestigious events and uses the platform the award has given her to increase the conversations in her field of nursing, domestic violence.

Read more about previous winners

Our sponsors