We are aware some users might find it difficult to log into our site today. We are working on this issue and hope to have it resolved shortly.

The judging took place in London on 21st – 24th March 2016. Chaired by RCNi’s Editorial Director, Graham Scott, the judges consisted of an esteemed panel nursing professionals with representatives from The Royal College of Nursing and NHS England as well as last year's RCN Nurse of the Year Amanda Burston. The judges also included clinical experts for each award category.

During the four days, the judges listened to over sixty inspirational and groundbreaking nurse-led initiatives that have improved health outcomes, enhanced patient experience and transformed nursing practice. All finalists demonstrated excellent clinical skills, outstanding person-centred compassionate care and a steadfast determination to provide the very best for their patients. With little to differentiate between the finalists, the task of choosing category winners was exceedingly hard and caused much debate amongst the judges.

The winners will be unveiled on Friday 6th May at the RCNi Nurse Awards Ceremony, Westminster Park Plaza, London. Attended by key figures in healthcare and nursing, the evening is an inspirational celebration of nursing excellence. This year, the awards will be hosted by comedienne Lucy Porter. Each finalist’s organisation will receive one complimentary ticket. Additional tickets are available to purchase for friends, family and colleagues.

Some of the judges in action

Nurse Awards judges

Judging Criteria

Clinical Categories

  1. How creative/innovative is the initiative? How much has the project contributed to nursing knowledge?
  2. How instrumental was the entrant in setting up and leading the initiative?
  3. The level of obstacles the entrant overcame to get the initiative up and running
  4. The impact the initiative has had on patient experience, health outcomes, nursing practice
  5. The level of evaluation which has been undertaken / is planned?
  6. To what extent has the entrant disseminated / plans to disseminate their initiative

Bank Nurse Award

  1. Entrants for this category need to be bank nurses and cannot be agency nurses
  2. Only entries received for bank nurses will be considered
  3. Any entries received for agency nurses or for any non-bank nurses will be invalid and immediately discounted
  4. Anyone can write an entry for a bank nurse, but only bank nurses will be considered eligible
  5. Bank nurse entrants need to possess the essential qualities of exceptional bank nursing, such as compassion, professionalism, enthusiasm, flexibility and reliability
  6. Bank nurse entrants should demonstrate a commitment to high quality, person centred care
  7. Bank nurse entrants should demonstrate that their bank work adds value/makes a difference to the service provided to patients

Andrew Parker Student Nurse Award

  1. To what extent has the entrant demonstrated an ability to assess the situation, using their initiative and leadership skills to bring about change?
  2. Does the student stand out from the crowd as a patient champion or future leader?

Nursing support assistant Award

  1. The level of contribution the nominee has made to the team?
  2. The impact the nominee's contribution had made to patient / client care?
  3. To what extent has the nominee / nominator given specific examples to illustrate the difference made to patient care?
  4. Is there evidence of how the HCA has applied learning in practice to improve patient care?

Patient’s Choice Award Judging

  • Nominations will be reviewed by the Editorial Director and the Chief Executive of the Patients Association.
  • Five nurses will be shortlisted as finalists.
  • The winner of this special award will be decided by a public vote.
  • Voting will open in March 2016 and close at the end of April 2016.
  • The successful nurses will be notified in February that they have been shortlisted as finalists.
  • The nominators of these nurses will also be notified that their nurse has been chosen as a finalist.

Our sponsors