Finalists for mental health practice category of RCNi Nurse Awards 2017 revealed

RCNi is proud to unveil the finalists for the mental health practice award at the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017, which showcase innovation, talent and skill across the nursing profession.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel in London on the night of Friday 5 May.

The awards span a range of areas, including learning disability nursing, child health and cancer nursing, and celebrate the best of the UK’s nursing workforce.


The coveted RCN nurse of the year 2017 prize will be awarded to one of the category winners at the end of the ceremony.

The shortlist for the mental health practice award is as follows:

  • Heather Meacham, NHS Forth Valley.
  • Alan Wilmott, Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust.
  • Sarah Biggs, Hertfordshire Partnership Foundation Trust.
  • Jessica Wilson, Elysium Health Care.
  • Matty Caine, Tees, Esk and Wear NHS Foundation Trust.
Mental Health Winners
Black Country Partnership NHS Trust were last year's mental health practice award winners
(from left to right): RCNi editorial advisory board member Caroline Shuldham, Susan Burns,
Godwill Tsvamuno, Simon Young, Craig Smith and comedian Lucy Porter. Picture: Barney Newman

Last year’s award was won by the Black Country Partnership NHS Trust for designing a de-escalation procedure for staff and patients to reduce the use of restraint.

Since winning, the team has been contacted by the Ministry of Justice, as well as health commissioners as far away as Geneva, expressing interest in the project.

Find out more

In other news