Nurse Awards

Shortlist for the learning disability nursing category at the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017 revealed

RCNi is proud to unveil the finalists for the learning disability nursing category at the RCNi Nurse Awards 2017, which showcase innovation, talent and skill across the nursing profession.

L-R: sponsor Rob Baillie with 2016 winners Phil Boulter, Gwen Moulster,
Crispin Hebron (paper cut-out) and Dave Atkinson of the Health Equalities Framework team
alongside guest presenter, comedian Lucy Porter. Picture: Barney Newman

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Westminster Park Plaza Hotel in London on the night of Friday 5 May.

The awards span a range of areas, including learning disability nursing, child health and cancer nursing, and celebrate the best of the UK’s nursing workforce.

The coveted RCN Nurse of the Year 2017 prize will be awarded to one of the category winners at the end of the ceremony.

The shortlist for the learning disability nursing award is as follows
  • Helen Laverty, University of Nottingham.
  • Nicky Lyall, St Anne's Community Services.
  • Jim Blair, Great Ormond Street Hospital.
  • Melanie Davies, Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board.
  • Lindsey Boyd, Countess of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.


Last year’s award was won by a team of four consultant nurses who created the Health Equalities Framework (HEF).

The team comprised of Dave Atkinson, Crispin Hebron, Phil Boulter and Gwen Moulster.

The HEF is an outcomes measure created to improve the healthy life expectancy of people with learning disabilities – which is many years shorter the rest of the population.

For the full list of finalists, go to

In other news